Several of you wanted clarification on the recent extension update, which required an additional permission. Contrary to popular belief, the new permission was for notifications, which show useful information when you connect and disconnect from Windscribe inside the Chrome extension. The permission for “read and change all your data on websites you visit” was there from the beginning, and is required for Windscribe to function due to ad blocking and proxying features. You can learn more about it in this Lifehacker article.

Relax, it’s all good.